Key Stage 1

Thank you for your interest in the curriculum taught to our infant children at Whittle-le-Woods C.E Primary School.

The units have been planned in response to the  National Curriculum and are full of creative, exciting, hands-on, challenging learning for our children.  While designing our new curriculum we feel we have not lost any of the engagement, rigour or fun and have added lots of new sparks to ignite learning. The curriculum was last reviewed in June 2021

Accessibility Plan 2021-2024

Equality Statement and Objectives

Our plans provide an outline of what children learn. For further information please do not hesitate to contact your child’s teacher through ClassDojo.


In Key Stage 1, we have introduced 100% decodable reading books to support children’s learning of phonics. They have a daily phonics lesson and will bring reading books, sound and word packs home. When children have completed and can apply Phase 5, a broader reading scheme is used and an even greater emphasis is placed on comprehension skills. We use Phonics Bug (Pearson) and Floppy Phonics (Oxford Reading Tree) until the end of phase 5 then we use a vast array of schemes in colour-coded bands.

There is also access to Bug club online with the reading scheme books as e-books for home reading. We expect all children to read daily throughout school and as children develop their decoding and reading skills, there needs to be an increased focus on comprehension -developing skills of retrieval, inference and broadening vocabulary. The assessments at the end of Year 2 have an emphasis, approximately 80% of the test, on these skills.

Phonics Bug accredited scheme is used to support our teaching of phonics

phonics-bug-logo        bug-club-logo


Here you will find out how children will progress through mathematical calculations (updated September 2021).  Please take a look as this will help you to support your child.

Please select your child’s year to read more about their specific year’s curriculum.

Year 1  |  Year 2